Are you struggling with setting up a HK company or other offshore company like Seychelles, BVI, Marshall Islands, Cayman Islands, etc.? That’s right, here we will give you some important clues to examine which type of entity is the right fit for you.
 

 

In fact, there could be plenty of obscure elements that people might easily neglect - it is not only about which type of company you are going to form but also what kind of business activities your firm will involve, where will these activities host, where will your profits generate from and do you need a HK bank account, etc. Let us show you an interesting case study for you to dig deeper :

 

[Based on Client’s Life Experience]

Alec (alias) is a start-up founder of a tech company that is based in the UK. He first came to us because he and his partner would like to set up their business here in HK as a gateway to open their potential Asian market. His big question is he is kind of wavering between a HK limited company vs. other offshore company as his final choice, therefore we came across the following questions with him to guide him through the decision making process :

*Q1 : “Does your business have any (and we meant ANY) activities that would take place in HK?”

 >> Answer: If your business does NOT hold any activity or does NOT have any profits generated here in HK (e.g. your sales contracts should be negotiated and concluded with suppliers outside the city), this kind of business operated wholly outside HK could be suitable to get registered in offshore jurisdictions like Seychelles or BVI, with different well-known merits like easier to achieve privacy protection, no restriction on director, etc., although they do have manifest weaknesses such as flimsy impression your clients might get. However, if your business has some kind of involvement in HK, then we would recommend you to set up a HK company, as any profit-generating activities in HK will be liable to HK Profits Tax and it is the owner’s obligation to report to the HK Inland Revenue Department (IRD). Forming a HK limited entity would be more suitable if so.

For Alec’s case, he predicted most likely his business would be operated completely outside HK, but since he knew HK company earns a higher reputation standing compared with other offshore jurisdictions, he preferred to start a HK entity. He also learned from us that it’d be easier for a HK firm to enter into China market with CEPA benefits available

 

*Q2 : “Do you need to open a bank account in HK?”

>> Answer: Same as many other international businessmen, Alec loved HK’s stable monetary system a lot, and he’d like to make use of its well established, secured financial infrastructure and free flow of capital to help his business grow (also serves as a perfect spot to receive multi-currency payment from clients especially when he planned to develop the business in mainland cities at a later stage). That’s why we had recommended him to establish a HK company in order to facilitate the bank account opening process, as based on our experience over these years, the opening success rate is relatively higher if you own a local company, particularly for foreign entrepreneurs. 

 

*Q3 : “How your tax arrangements would be?”

>> Answer: This is a question you MUST pay attention to! As known, an offshore entity is easier to get tax exemption if the business is completely operated offshore. It is also not required to prepare audited financial reports generally. Whilst in HK, the corporate Profits Tax rate is 16.5% on average, though it is a very low rate among the global market. One point you might need to keep in mind is that if you find all your profits are not derived from HK after your HK company has operated for some time, you can apply for Offshore Claim to try getting tax exemption in HK.

Alec did that after his company had operated for around 1.5 years. Since we were appointed as his tax representative, our tax specialists were able to help him handle all tax reporting issues in HK (including but not limited to the filing of Profits Tax Return when his firm’s tax exemption status was not granted yet) as well as the Offshore Claim to the IRD. Actually, once an Offshore Claim is filed, the IRD would request much more detailed information, and the applicant needed to be very well prepared for answering those questions within the given time period. Freeing our client’s hassles, we’ll manage the whole application process including all correspondence with the IRD to provide the appropriate information and data that they require.

=============================================================================

All in all, BRIDGES’s mission is to help our international clients like Alec to pick the most suitable vehicle for their business here, thus their company would be able to maximise its profits and efficiency while saving unnecessary cost and time.

The above three questions are some significant ones for you to examine yourself, yet there are always exceptional cases so you can always check with our advisors for more guidance before you decide which entity type to go for. Give us a call at +852 2159 9666 or email info@bridges.hk for a thorough consultation. 

Read All
HK SETUP PACKAGE OFFSHORE PACKAGE

With the pandemic turmoil of the European and American economy, many global businessmen have pivoted to explore further in Asian countries. Among the different choices, Hong Kong is always the one winning entrepreneurs’ hearts. Wanna know the reasons behind?!
 

 

Easy Procedure

Forming a HK limited company is very straightforward, especially if you're doing it with a professional service provider. BRIDGES team has served countless start-ups and SMEs in setting up their company with our all-in-one package (no hidden costs at all) for 19 years. Let us share a few tips and you will find establishing your own company has never been easier.

 

STEP 1: Collecting the required documents (please refer to the list below) for registration at the HK Companies Registry :

There are 2 types of Required Documents:

Type I. If the Director / Shareholder is an individual:

> Copy of all Directors & Shareholders’ passports / HKID

> Copy of all Directors & Shareholders’ addresses proof

* The Director & Shareholder can be the same person, which means it only takes 1 person to complete the process.

Type II. If the Director / Shareholder is a corporation:

> Copy of Business Registration (BR) Certificate

> Copy of all Directors’ passports

> Copy of  registered office’s address proof

> Articles of Association

> Meeting minutes of agreeing to appoint Directors / Shareholders for this Company

* If the Director is a corporation, it is required to appoint at least one individual Director to comply with the new Companies Ordinance. 

 

STEP 2: Pay and go!

Once your incorporation payment is confirmed, we will get on preparing the Government paperwork for you to sign.

 

STEP 3: Submitting your signed documents to Government :

Even if you are aboard, we will help submit all signed application documentations to the Government for swift processing. In fact, by the time you reach this step, you are already halfway through setting up your own company.  Our team would get it all done for you, like approaching different Government departments to file the required paperwork. For a ready-made (shelf) company, it takes around 2 working days to process; for an all-new company, it would take around 1 week or less to process.

 

STEP 4: Opening bank account :

You may ask: ‘How can I finish all company setup and bank account opening procedures as I'm stuck at my place?’ The good news is BRIDGES is now able to provide remote incorporation. From business consultation to business set-up, everything can be settled via the Internet. For bank account opening, indeed many traditional banks require physical presence and it usually takes a one-month appointment in advance. However, now with the pandemic, you might consider utilising fintech platforms to facilitate your business transaction especially if you are trading in multiple currencies.

The three reliable bank account alternatives in HK (BRIDGES' business partners) - AirwallexStatrys and Currenxie - do not require the physical presence of applicants and offer more than 10 different currencies. For more details, please refer to "
Traditional Bank Account Alternatives to Run Business".

 

Bank Account Opening Preparation

The assessment criteria of international banking are getting stricter, including HK’s banking and financial system. Therefore, a thorough preparation before the bank appointment always helps. If you managed to fly to HK, we will help arrange an appointment with bankers in advance on your behalf. What’s more, sets of the certified true copy are included in our package already for presenting to the bankers. Before the appointment, our experienced specialists will advise you of the documents needed to prepare (e.g. passport copy, residential address proof, business plan, business proofs, etc.), so that the whole process could be sped up and the situation of missed documents is minimised. Some banks can even offer our clients pre-screening to let you know whether your provided documents are sufficient for the bank appointment. In general, the assessment time will be around 2 - 4 weeks provided that all required supporting documents are submitted to the bank for review. We work closely with HSBC, Hang Seng Bank, DBS, OCBC Wing Hang Bank, China Citic Bank, etc. and we will guide you through to smooth out the whole process.

 

Favourable Taxation in HK

HK is famous for having a rather simple and low tax regime. There are two main taxes: Corporate Profits Tax (16.5%) and Personal Salaries Tax (15%), and there is no dividend tax in HK. Generally after 18 months of your limited company incorporated, you will receive the 1st Profits Tax Return. When your company is in good hands like us where there is an in-house Accounting Team able to assist your business with all accounting work, audit arrangement and getting prepared for local tax compliance, you can rest assured that all these essential functions will be handled properly and timely in a legitimate way.

 

HK Incorporation vs. Singapore Incorporation

Both HK and Singapore are popular jurisdictions in Asia for international businessmen. However, forming a Singapore company requires foreign entrepreneurs to partner up with a local Singapore citizen, while there is no limit on the nationality of the director(s) in setting up a HK company.  It means no matter what your nationality is, you can freely form your own company in HK without the need to include a HK citizen as your company’s stakeholder, giving you more flexibility in the company structure.

 

How HK Serves as a Stepping Stone into China?

For expats who want to set foot in China, they have to set up a special type of entity named Wholly Foreign Owned Enterprise (WFOE) according to the China policy. From our experience, if you own a Hong Kong limited company as a shareholding company, it would be way more beneficial to use it informing your WFOE due to the close economic partnership between HK and Mainland China i.e. under The Closer Economic Partnership Arrangement (CEPA). Not to mention financing in HK is much more accessible than in China, and all major international banks are located in HK, leading to a high standard system in terms of technology and security. In contrary to China, there are no restrictions or approvals needed to receive or transfer funds / foreign currencies in HK as you might know.

=============================================================================

If you have any further questions on setting up your own company, please feel free to email our company incorporation team, at info@bridges.hk to know more about our practical advice. 

Read All
CHECK PACKAGES TALK TO US NOW

Many business owners must have heard about the infamously arduous bank account opening process in HK and we often encounter foreign entrepreneur clients stressing about it. With all the travel restrictions, it seems to make opening a corporate bank account even trickier since many business owners cannot be present. However, our team has helped almost 20 business owners of different nationalities to open an account remotely successfully in the first half of 2022!

Here comes how our team can make the entire journey much more efficient even if the client is not in HK with practical advice and initiatives.

It is no secret that the bank account regulations of international banks are tightening over time to prevent illegal operations, that is when our in-house compliance team and experienced advisor come in handy. Our local experts will always provide detailed guidance and solutions for clients to adapt the regulations, making the success rate naturally higher.

 

Why Having a Consultant is Important?

Our competent consultant does not stop at telling you what documents are needed beforehand, s/he will also review your documents and provide practical suggestions to facilitate your application. Based on each client's background and needs (i.e. business nature, passport country, residence country, buyer & supplier background, etc.), our consultant will suggest the most suitable bank(s) for your business as some banks fit some business natures better, or how to enhance your prepared documents to fit the banks’ particular requirements.

After the official documents are submitted and the appointment with bankers is confirmed, the consultant will then notify you so you can meet with the banks virtually or physically (banks like HSBC and OCBC now offer virtual meetings to cater to applicants who can't do it in person due to travel restrictions), and pick up the registered company materials such as business registration certificate (which can also be done by our team). In short, our team will do our very best to step in at the right time and set things up in the most efficient way.

 

How We Can Make a Difference?

Many clients are extremely concerned if they could open a bank account remotely due to travel restrictions and questions about the success rate, you can see how we will help at different start-up stages in the following. 

  • ​Company incorporation stage: After receiving your company details and ID proofs, our consultants will prepare a set of registration documents for you to sign online and then we'll submit them to the relevant Government departments. Most importantly, you do NOT have to be in HK and everything is done digitally.
     
  • Bank account opening stage: To save your hassles, our team will manage the appointments with your preferred banks. Some of our bank partners can even offer pre-screening to let you know whether your provided documents are sufficient for the bank appointment / assessment. 

We fully understand that each client’s case background is different and some banks could be more suitable for certain businesses. For instance, some banks might require all Director(s) and Shareholder(s) to be present at the meeting, whilst some banks only need half of them to show up. Read this if you are interested to know more about the requirements of each of our bank partners.

=============================================================================

If you want to have more information or need any assistance in opening a bank account, don't hesitate to shoot us an email at info@bridges.hk or call us at +852 2159 9666 and enjoy your exciting business journey with us. 

Read All
CHECK PACKAGES APPOINT US NOW
Close Open

客戶開展香港業務前,總會問我們一個問題: 「我應該成立香港公司,還是其他離岸公司(如塞舌爾、英屬維爾京群島、馬紹爾群島、開曼群島等)更好?」 正因如此,我們現在會提供一些重要資訊,讓您評估最適合您的企業實體類型。

 

 

事實上,人們在決定成立公司時,或許會忽略許多隱藏因素,包括您要成立的公司類型、您的公司將參與的商業活動類型、這些活動的舉行地點、您的利潤將在何處產生,以及您是否需要一個香港銀行帳戶等。我們將介紹一個富有啟發性的案例,讓您深入研究:

 

[根據客戶的真實經驗]

Alec(別名)是一間科技公司的創辦人,其公司總部位於英國。當時他和合作夥伴希望在香港建立業務,以香港作為開拓亞洲市場的基地,因此他來尋求我們的協助。他面對一大難題,就是他仍在成立香港有限公司和其他離岸公司之間猶豫不決,故我們向他詢問以下問題,引導他作出決定:-

*問題1:「您會否在香港進行任何(是任何)商業活動?」

 >> 問題1答案:如您的業務並不會在香港進行任何活動或產生任何利潤(例如,銷售合約完全與香港以外的供應商商議並執行),此類完全在香港以外經營的業務或適合在離岸司法管轄區註冊,如塞舌爾或英屬維爾京群島,它們的優點眾所周知,如更容易保護私隱、不設董事限制等,同時亦具有明顯缺點,如客戶可能會覺得您的公司欠缺穩固基礎。然而,如果您的企業將與香港有關,我們建議您成立一間香港公司,因為任何在香港產生盈利的活動都須繳付香港利得稅,而擁有人亦有義務向香港稅務局申報。這樣的話,組成香港有限公司則更為適合。

至於Alec的個案,他預期業務很可能完全在香港以外經營,但他認為香港比其他離岸司法管轄區享有更加信譽,故選擇成立一間香港公司。我們亦告訴他,在《更緊密經貿關係的安排》下,香港公司更容易進入中國市場。

 

*問題2:「您需要在香港開立銀行帳戶嗎?」

>> 問題2答案:Alec跟很多跨國企業家一樣,喜歡香港穩定的貨幣體系,他希望利用香港優秀的財政基礎設施,及自由流動的資金來助他發展業務(尤其是他計劃在後期階段於內地城市開展業務,香港可讓他收取多種貨幣的付款)。因此我們建議他建立一間香港公司,這樣會令銀行開戶的過程更順利,根據我們近年的經驗,如您擁有本地公司,特別是外國企業家,開戶成功率相對較高。

 

*問題3:「您會如何處理稅務安排?」

>> 問題3答案:這是一個您必須留意的問題! 眾所周知,如果企業完全在境外經營,這種離岸企業實體更容易獲得稅務豁免。一般亦不需要編制經審計的財務報告。而在香港,公司利得稅的平均稅率為16.5%,雖然此稅率在全球市場中依然非常低。您需要緊記,如果您發現經營香港公司一段時間後,所有利潤均不是來自香港,您便可申請境外利潤豁免,嘗試獲得香港稅務豁免。

Alec在經營公司約1年半後亦有申請境外利潤豁免。自從我們被委任為他的稅務代表後,我們的稅務專家協助他處理香港的所有稅務申報事宜(包括但不限於在其公司尚未獲得稅務豁免資格時提交利得稅報稅表),以及向稅務局申請境外利潤豁免。事實上,申請境外利潤豁免後,稅務局將要求申請人提交更多詳細資料,及回答相關問題,申請人需要在指定時間內做好充分準備。我們將管理整個申請程序,包括處理與稅務局的所有通訊,向他們提供適當的所需資料和數據。

總而言之,協橋堅守使命,協助如Alec的國際客戶挑選在香港經營業務的最佳方法,讓其公司享有最大利潤和最佳效率,節省不必要的成本和時間。.

以上就是您需要考慮的3個重要問題,但總會有特殊情況,您可隨時諮詢我們的顧問,在挑選企業實體前了解更詳盡的資訊。請在此處查看我們的服務計劃詳情,開展零障礙的創業之旅。
 - 香港公司成立服務計劃
 - 離岸公司成立服務計劃

閱讀全部
香港公司成立服務計劃 離岸公司服務計劃

新冠肺炎蔓延全球,歐洲及美國經濟動盪,因此越來越多商人計劃集中拓展亞洲市場。香港一直是最受獨立企業家青睞的城市。想知道背後原因?

 

過程簡單?

成立一間香港有限公司絕不複雜深奧,過程非常簡單,尤其當您使用一間可信賴的服務供應商。我們19年來服務無數初創企業和中小企業,以全方位服務計劃協助他們處理內部及外部事項(絕無隱藏費用)的經驗,絕對能助你迅速成立公司。以下是成立程序: 

1:準備在香港公司註冊處註冊的所需文件(請參閱以下清單):

所需文件分為2類:

1. 如董事/股東是個人:

>所有董事及股東的護照/香港身分證副本

>所有董事及股東的住址證明副本

* 董事及股東可以是同一人,即只需1人便可完成程序。

2. 如董事/股東是一間公司:

>商業登記證副本

>所有董事的護照副本

>辦公室註冊地址證明副本

>組織章程

>同意委任該公司董事/股東的會議記錄

如董事為一間公司,則必須委任至少一名獨立董事,以符合最新的公司條例。

 

2:付款即可!

當我們確認收到公司成立的付款後,會把預備遞交給政府的文件給您簽署。

 

3:向政府遞交簽妥的文件:

即使您身處海外,我們也會為您向政府遞交所有簽妥的申請文件,加快處理程序。事實上,當您來到這一步時,已經完成了成公司成立手續的一半。沒錯,整個過程聽起來輕鬆簡單,因為我們的團隊將為您做好所有預備功夫,如前往不同政府部門提交所需文件。現成公司一般會於2個工作日內成立,而全新公司則約需要1星期或以內

 

4:開立銀行帳戶:

您可能會問:「我身處的地方未對外開放,未能坐飛機前往香港。我可以如何完成所有公司成立程序和與銀行會面?」好消息是協橋逐趨電子化。從業務諮詢到業務設置,一切都可以通在網上解決。實際上的確有許多傳統銀行都要求客戶親身來港開設銀行帳戶,而且大多需要提前一個月預約。但基於現時環境因素,可考慮利用金融科技平台來促進您的業務交易,對利用多種貨幣進行交易的商家來說最為方便。

我們與香港三個新興銀行帳戶電子平台 - Airwallex, StatrysCurrenxie有著緊密的合作關係。幾個平台均無須申請人親身申請,並且提供10種以上的不同貨幣戶口,詳細請參閱「發掘傳統銀行帳戶以外的業務經營方法」

 

開立銀行帳戶需要準備甚麼?

國際銀行的整體評估標準正在提高,當中包括香港的銀行及金融體系。因此,您需要在與銀行家會面前做好妥善及悉心的準備。如上文所述,我們將處理所有程序,包括協助您提前預約銀行家,省卻您為在銀行開戶而在城中奔波或在銀行分行排隊的麻煩。此外,我們的配套包括文件副本的認證服務,以便您向銀行家展示。與銀行會面之前,我們經驗豐富的專家將建議您準備所需文件(如護照副本、住址證明、商業計劃書、商業證明等),不但能加快整個程序,亦避免您遺漏文件。 一些銀行甚至可以為客戶提供預檢服務,讓您知道您手上的文件是否已經齊備。一般來說,遞交所有所需文件給銀行審核後,評估時間約為2-4星期。我們現時與匯豐銀行、恆生銀行、星展銀行、華僑永亨銀行、中信銀行(國際)等緊密合作,將指導您順利完成所有程序。

 

香港的稅收制度對我有利嗎?

香港簡單而低稅率的制度享譽全球。稅務主要分為兩類:公司利得稅 (16.5%) 和個人薪俸稅 (15%),而香港不設股息稅。一般而言,在有限公司成立18個月後,您將收到第一份利得稅報稅表。我們的內部會計專業團隊將協助處理一切會計工作和審計安排,並為您的本地稅務合規做好準備。您可以放心,這些基本程序均會以合法的方式適當並及時處理。

 

香港公司成立 vs 新加坡公司成立?

香港和新加坡均享譽全球,因此兩地都是國際企業家在亞洲司法轄區的熱門之選。不過,兩地最大的差異在於,外國企業家要成立新加坡公司,需要與新加坡公民合作,而成立香港公司對董事的國籍並沒有限制。因此,不論國籍,您都可以在香港自由成立自己的公司,而無需加入一名香港公民作為貴公司的持份者,從而您的公司結構能維持高靈活度。

 

香港如何成為打進中國市場的踏腳石?

想打入中國市場,成立中國有限公司或許是最直接的方式。根據中國政策,外國人必須建立一種特別的企業實體,即外商獨資企業。由於香港與中國內地之間的緊密經濟合作(即在《更緊密經貿關係的安排》協議下),如果您是一間香港股份有限公司的擁有者,這將對您成立外商獨資企業更為有利。此外,香港比中國更容易融資,而所有主要的國際銀行都在香港設有分行,無論在科技還是安全方面,人們都較喜歡香港的銀行網絡和高標準體系。中國的外幣管制是另一個兩地不同的範疇,您也可能知道香港對接收或轉移資金/外幣均不設限制,而且無須審批

 

===========================================

如果您對成立公司有任何疑問,歡迎隨時發送電郵至info@bridges.hk給我們的公司成立顧問團隊,讓我們向您提供更多實用建議。您也可以致電+852 2159 9666,讓您在香港的創業過程更順利。

閱讀全部
查看服務計劃 立即諮詢

想必很多企業家都聽說過香港銀行開戶流程繁瑣,我們有不少外國企業家客戶為此感到壓力。 由於外旅限制,開設公司銀行賬戶對未能親身來港的企業家而言似乎更加棘手。 然而,我們的團隊在2022年上半年已經幫助近20個不同國籍的企業家成功遠程開戶

即使客戶不在香港,我們的團隊也可以透過彈性的服務來提高整個開戶過程的效率。

眾所周知,隨著時間的推移,所有國際銀行的銀行賬戶法規不斷收緊以防止非法活動,這就是我們內部合規團隊和經驗豐富的顧問大派用場的時候。 我們本地的專家為客戶提供詳細的指導和解決方案以適應不停更改的法規,有效地提高開戶申請成功率。

 

為何顧問會如此重要?

我們經驗豐富的顧問不但會告訴您與銀行家會面前需要準備的文件,還會為您審閱文件並提供實用建議,加快申請進度。舉例,我們的顧問非常熟悉不斷更新的銀行開戶申請要求,因而會根據您的個人背景和需求(業務性質、護照國家、居住國家、買家和供應商背景等),建議幾間較適合的銀行以配合某些商業性質會更適合在哪幾間銀行開戶,和提醒你如何準備文件以符合銀行的特定要求等等。

在遞交所有正式文件並確認與銀行的預約後,顧問會安排您親身或透過虛擬形式與銀行會面,有些大型國際銀行例如匯豐銀行和永亨銀行可以進行虛擬會面,方便因疫情而不能親身會面的客戶。同時領取註冊公司資料,例如商業登記證 ( 亦可以由我們代領)。總結來說,我們專業的顧問團隊會在最適當的時候提供幫忙,為您悉心規劃,以最有效的方式成立公司,並為重要的銀行預約做好準備。

 

我們的顧問能發揮甚麼作用?

疫情期間,許多客戶最關注可否在遙距在海外成立公司,甚至全程遙距進行開戶過程,當然可以!以下是我們在不同初創階段可提供的協助:

  • 公司成立階段收到貴公司的詳細資料和您的身份證明後,我們的顧問將為您準備一套註冊文件。簽妥文件後你可以透過電郵交回給我們,我們將為您遞交至相關政府部門。整個過程中,您無需來港。
     
  • 銀行帳戶開立階段 : 我們的團隊將處理所有程序,為您預約所選銀行。我們部份的銀行夥伴甚至可以為客戶提供預檢服務,讓您知道您所提供的文件是否足夠進行銀行會面/評估。為會面做好充分準備,大幅提高成功率。

每位客戶的背景都大有不同,部份銀行可能更適合您。例如,有些銀行可能要求所有董事和股東參加會面,而一些銀行只要求半數董事和股東參與會面。如果您想了解多有關於我們不同銀行伙伴的開戶要求,歡迎您閱覽此文章,尋找最佳選擇,從而在香港經營業務。

=============================================================================

還在為準備成立公司或選擇哪家銀行而苦惱?請發送電郵到info@bridges.hk,或致電+852 2159 9666,以獲取我們頂尖顧問的建議,立即提升您的開戶成功率!

閱讀全部
查看服務計劃 請即委託我們
關閉 展開